Judicial Nominating Commission Chooses Finalists

Court Gavel and ScaleIn 2013, our own Lee Christie was elected to Indiana’s Judicial Nominating Commission, a board of seven charged with filling vacancies in the state’s appellate courts. Serving alongside two other lawyers, three non-lawyers, and the Chief Justice of the Indiana Supreme Court, Lee recently played a central role in identifying three final candidates for the vacancy left by retiring Justice Brent Dickson.

The nominees include Judge Steven L. Hostetler of the St. Joseph Superior Court in South Bend, Judge Matthew C. Kincaid of the Boone Superior Court 1 in Lebanon, and Geoffrey G. Slaughter of the practice Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP in Indianapolis.

Governor Pence will make the final decision from among these three candidates within 60 days.

Update, May 9, 2016: Governor Pence has selected Geoffrey G. Slaughter from Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP. Congratulations to our newest Supreme Court Justice!